Shingeki no Kyojin 43 – An Attempt in the Story

I’m not so sure about the progress of the story. It’s going to be on its fourth year this year, and there haven’t been any major changes so far. It may be because it’s filled with all fights and less revelations, but the steps they’re taking are too short.

The best possible (and biggest) turn for this show would have been opening the basement and finding out what’s inside, thus revealing more about the titans, but postponing this huge turn, which we all know possess the necessary knowledge about these Titan-filled world, may be a wrong move. It’s very disappointing that they’d have to fight one Titan after the other, chase one girl in order to gain more information about “Titan walls”, and the answers near to the ultimate truth are in the basement. Every single time I read the chapter, I tell myself, “I think the series is dragging itself too long,” and the thought continues with echoes of “Open the goddamn basement, already!”

Since there’s nothing else we could do, let’s hope they are going to make me eat my words with twists and turns unlike any other, and a better crisp about the universe since I honestly feel it is somehow lacking.

Speaking of twists, I am very disappointed. Let me reiterate, very disappointed of the sudden revelation of who the Colossal Titan and the Armored Titan are. Telling Eren was perhaps the worst and most regrettable move they’ll ever make, and I’m not so sure why they told him. Scared? Afraid? Their beings as the largest and the sturdiest Titan is beyond the powers of everyone. There is more to be revealed, sure of it, about who’s the puppeteer, but the story dived in an illogical move.

Very tragic in itself for the story, actually. I hope they make me take back everything I said here in the later chapters because the once peculiar but interesting Shingeki no Kyojin has become a dragging action-packed show of humans devoured by the mouths of gigantic beasts. I’m still tuned in to this manga though, too hard to drop something as good as this.

Comment