Guilty Crown – 01-04

Ecchi

Even at the most dramatic moment, there is something wrong with it. No, this didn't ruin the atmosphere for me at all. It felt more... hot.

I don’t know if I can keep up with reviewing anime, but I’ll try my best to. I don’t really have that much spare time at all when school days are coming, so I’ll just try to insert these anime reviews without actually finishing them. Although it may be a bother to me (including the fact that it also makes me insecure when I don’t complete the entire anime series from the review), I’ll just have to bear with it then.

So, what’s the big deal why I actually went on with anime reviewing? There’s only a very simple explanation for that: Guilty Crown. Guilty Crown is an anime that has really absorbed me from the very first second I saw its world and listened to its sound. The music was just too captivating, even at the very first few seconds. It’s nothing like pop; it’s more like ballad but not a romantic song. The atmosphere that goes into your ears is just tranquil and peace, but not something that would live as a lullaby. It keeps the story interesting, even without the animations, by just this music. As we move on in the next few parts of the song, the sound just becomes more dramatic and more pop but rock as well. Everything just mixed itself well. With all that said, the drama in the anime just went perfectly well with the song. It was dramatic, something you might actually be able to cry to if this were the ending.

And that’s about that. An outstanding intro, really outsanding! There’s basically nothing more I’d need to say if you watch it yourself. I’m pretty sure that the majority there who’ll be taken in with this recommendation will be allured by the anime as I did. With the really charming song and the scenic plot, who wouldn’t like it?

Everything said occurred in the first episode of Guilty Crown. What’s next are my thoughts in episode 4, assuming that you have already watched the first 3 episodes.

Sad Shu

Taken over by sadness from a betrayal, what a commendable title "Guilty Crown."

I love the truth behind this episode – the general truth, applicable to the real world as well. The unfair life and the disgusting people, there are just persons like that. It’s inevitable that you wouldn’t meet people like them, but what’s worse is how some are just deceiving. I’ve learned through the few years in my life that revenge isn’t something that would easily subside; revenge that can only be quenched by delivering the same thing it has did to you. Apparently, the emotion that topped all the others was the sadness and realization of the truth, mixed with guilt as well. I like how they didn’t show that revenge can never be the answer to everything, and that there’s the sad truth beyond the deceiving one. What really took over me was that for people like him (who has almost the same situation as I am), losing a friend is almost like losing everything. You’ll be surprised at how people like us easily get saddened by that truth, but at the same time, tried hard by not blinding ourselves with fury.

Shu and Inori's Moments

At the same time, for both of them, I feel drama and pain.

I admire him and his determination. He has the characteristics of a typical protagonist, but cliche is sometimes the best answer to these things. He’s perfect for the role, too, almost neutral at both sides of the world, living at different perceptions of “justice.” However, looking at episode 4 as a whole, it’s safe to say that it’s a predictable story but well-delivered that it may be scratched out. I’ve always thought that predictability doesn’t matter as long as they deliver it uniquely, scenically, and leaving the audience with nothing but awe.

Shu's Admirable Determination

Looking at those fierce eyes... only death can come.

As the story goes on, it is always to be expected that there will always be a change of plans. Humans are humans; people still change at the worst timing they could ever think of. The timing for everything was magnificent. I was surprised at how they keep the rate of the fast pace work well. I felt a bit of thrill, but amusement and curiosity were the emotions I felt more. The truth behind someone’s life and vaguely leaving the truth hidden around what the anime is revolving in. With also the drama of the encounter of the Egoist singer Inori and the protagonist Shu, it was just… amazing. By this point, I may have not felt the thrill, but only with questions and went with the flow of the drama. While they were reaching out to each other, it’s when those times when you hope that nothing will go wrong. As seen, there was a sniper who was almost able to kill one of them, perhaps both, and was perfectly removed from the cliche scenes, thanks to that Joker-like Segai guy with less insanity present.

His objective there as a spectator was unusual. The commands to leave them as is was more unsettling. There has a lot of this anime in store for us.

And at the finale, it was just hard to absorb. With the second chance, to finally decide whether he could join Gai or leave once and for all. Choosing the former, but all the more reason to betray him or not. Gai’s objectives are still unclear, and if this goes on, Gai will soon be betrayed by his almost best player in the battlefield. I want them to clear these things soon, see what really happens, what goes on, what the pen might have more than what was said. I want to see everything, not from curiosity, but to spare myself from the drama.

Ending with Shu carrying the unconscious Inori, what could be next?

Inori's Void Being Used

HOT, HOT, HOT.

Comment