Detective Conan – Volume 10

Ran opening the CR, thinking that Shinichi was there.

I feel sorry for Ran here, possibly as much as Conan is sad for his self.

With the really unexpected time-difference trick, it was great way to open up the chapter. However, with Conan still blabbing on his ideas and all that, it was also easy to find out how the trick was made. (Still, I’m undeniably always stuck at the why parts.) What really surprised me was how Conan, like always, find the weird evidences to prove someone’s crime. It’s not until now that I find out it’s interesting.

And now, for the main course, the appearance of the Great Detective of the West! His appearance was just astonishing. How he opened up a topic about Shinichi with only Ran saying about his calls, that was just a really fast, yet accurate conclusion. And immediately followed up by a really tricky and interesting case all caused by an old man “disrupting justice,” that was something unexpected. The setup for everything was really great. I also like how stern the wife was. To begin with, she was suspicious since she went to Mouri’s place. Or maybe I just hate stern people too much. Regardless, the creation of the characters, the family tree, and the company problems were really the making of a great author.

Unexpectedly, this is when Conan turns into Shinichi for a short while, only to reveal the truth behind the case, not Heiji’s mistaken reasoning. Also, it was sad enough that Shinichi didn’t last for long that much. He eventually turned into Conan at the most needed moment for Ran. Well, there’s still some time for everything else. I guess Conan just can’t do anything about it, and he’s just got a hard life to face.

Shounen Tantei's Supposedly Last Appearance

Funny how I really felt the drama here, and for it to end in a really funny way.

Followed by a case on the same day Conan woke to, the Shounen Tantei makes their appearance once again! I don’t really see them as just a bunch of rowdy and naive elementary students in comparison to the anime. It must be because they have become redundant, and the number of their appearances have also become somewhat unusual and wrong. I don’t know if in the later chapters the same thing’s may be said, but I hope its great and good. I don’t want to view Shounen Tantei as one of those annoying groups or just groups with the most annoying characters; it makes me feel like Detective Conan has its own bad image.

The case they tackled was really unusual and the setup for everything was just unbelievable. I mean, domino library? Naaah, what surprises me more is how they really set it up that well. “Conan’s there.” Reasonable enough, but a bunch of kids with the strength to do it? Hmm… Interesting. But I won’t check my facts again. I’ll just leave it as is, and my thoughts wandered in this post.

As the case finished interestingly with a more gained trust, Conan went to Professor Agasa’s house with the alcohol, the item Conan deduced to be the cause of his change to Shinichi. After an hour of drinking, there wasn’t any difference in his body at all, except for being drunk and all that. It made me feel for Conan and his body, but at the same time, it cheers me up to know that the series is still on-going. :p

As days passed, Conan won some sort of things for skiing. We were left with a case of Conan saying that he has got the answer. The setup for the victim’s death was sapid. You could easily tell that a lot of things were off in the crime scene. However, no matter how much I think about it, I still don’t understand it. Like the previous cases, I already know the culprit and the explanation for all that, but this one’s really weird. It’s as though I’m reading this as a new case. I get the familiarity for everything else, but I can’t just put my fingers in the right answers.

Looking at it overall, it was great. However, I didn’t like how it ended in such a weak state. The cliffhanger was good, but it has most likely become so redundant that it’s worthless being one. Or maybe I just don’t like it because they might have left Conan something else to do in relation to the alcohol. Still, no matter how much I say how wrong it is, it’s still undeniably good.

Volume 10 Cover

Conan looks awesome and funny here at the same time.

Comment