Detective Conan – Volume 6

Detective Conan

I like how he looks arrogant here with a small body in front of his very awesome and big (from his perspective) parents.

At this point, this is when I realize that Detective Conan will start dragging things out. Losing the romance and the Black Organization plot. Well, they’ll obviously have to take it back sooner or later, but I still hope the arrangement in the manga for the cases won’t be as worse as the anime. The anime’s obviously adding too much TV originals, causing things to be much, much more dragging than it should have been. I mean, it’s been there since 1994 and with all the TV originals, it’s almost just like some genius first grader is solving the crimes for the stupid detectives. Well, can’t blame the producers for it. They may be milking it, but I guess there’s a point where they’d have to collide with the manga’s production.

With all of that said, let’s focus now on the stupendous cases Conan has solved!

In continuation from the previous volume’s cliffhanger, we have a single chapter to conclude Shinichi’s parents. The creativity of the author really fascinates me a lot on how he thought of introducing them to the people with a fake Black Organization plot, rather than just showing them to Conan and make things bit less confusing and interesting. The background of his parents is really amazing. We already knew bits of it, but it’s great to know that these people are very famous with the get-back Conan did at the end. I hope we get to see more of them. Also, speaking of his parents, her mother sure is beautiful and charismatic. I like her.

I would’ve liked it if they dragged it to one more chapter. He’s creative, and I’m sure the author can still pull of some tricks off his sleeve with the amazing parents of Shinichi and all that. Ha, what can we do. It’s almost like a cliffhanger in a different way.

Now, on to the next case. This case was really interesting. With no knowledge about phone calls, answering machines, and swords, this case is just point-blank for me. They introduced it well and concluded interestingly. As one of Conan’s first few attempts in using Kogoro as his medium, it will take him some time to master it. I’m still enthralled at everyone’s eyes for not noticing Conan’s movements at all. I guess kids are kids, and they’re barely noticeable unless they’re in some trouble.

With Shounen Tantei as its next appearance, that was just great! When you’re from the view of seeing the latest episodes in Detective Conan, it’s great to see how Shounen Tantei’s starting to gain some trust and responsibility. Unusually, I hope we’ll get to see more of them with more tricky cases than they were involved in. Inspector Megure’s also got really that adult attitude, not believing kids. I just love how their characters are flawed well.

Left with the third case as the cliffhanger, it’s not really my type of case. I don’t like knowing the murderer beforehand, or making the murderer take the appearance of someone very obvious. Still, it’s a whole new thing for me when I first encountered such way of solving a crime. Also, I’ve got nothing much to say here, except how it was well-created and how the flaws were put up perfectly. I don’t really think this is a weak case for the author to take on, but I think he could do better than this. But the cliffhanger made a huge impact, we can scratch that out.

Overall, it’s a great volume. And with all of my thoughts in this post being said, there’s only one more thing I want everyone to know about Detective Conan, one of the main reasons why I’m still caught up with this series and why I like this show: the romance. That’s quite a bit obvious, and you might know that I’m a fan of Shinichi x Ran, but I’d like to see the two more pairs make their appearance. In fact, I’m excited about Heiji making his first appearance!

Volume 6 Cover

Conan looks cool. Ayumi appearing looks unusual.

Comment